Select Page

Tyngsborough Grant Award Highlighted by Secretary Kennealy at Grant Announcement in Medway

Tyngsborough- Today, Town Administrator Matthew Hanson and Assistant Town Administrator Colin Loiselle joined Housing & Economic Development Secretary Mike Kennealy and Undersecretary Ashley Stolba at the historic Thayer Homestead in Medway for a Housing Choice Grant Announcement. The Housing Choice Grant Program is a competitive grant that rewards municipalities that have produced a significant number of housing units in the last five years and that have adopted or established Best Practices that encourage housing production. This competitive grant program awards funds based on the project’s nexus with housing, transportation, infrastructure, economic development, and community development. Tyngsborough is one of only 85 of the Commonwealth’s 351 cities & towns to earn this designation.

Tyngsborough was awarded $250,000 from this program for FY23 to be used on further development in our Town Center. This project will see the construction of additional ADA compliant walkways, a boardwalk & viewing deck over the existing dam, and a pedestrian bridge to increase access to this natural resource. It will also include substantial landscape improvements to make a space that was previously not-useable be available for use by the Town’s residents & visitors.

Town Administrator Matthew Hanson was asked to speak to discuss the project and express Tyngsborough’s gratitude to the Baker-Polito Administration for their support for cities & towns during their tenure on Beacon Hill. Tyngsborough was fortunate to receive roughly $7 million in various grant programs from the Administration since they took office in 2014. You can view Mr. Hanson’s remarks here.

This project will put the finishing touches on years of hard work developing a Town Center that is representative of Tyngsborough’s rich history and that compliments its thriving residential & commercial community. This work was aided by funds from the Community Preservation Committee and several state grants including Complete Streets, Shared Streets & Spaces, and several earmarks from the legislature.



Contact: Colin Loiselle, Assistant Town Administrator

[email protected] | 978-649-2300 x155