The Office of The Town Collector
Monday – Thursday 8:30 a.m. to 4:00 p.m.
Fridays 8:30 a.m. to 12:30 p.m.
About The Office of The Town Collector:
The Town Collector’s Office is responsible for the collection of all assessed taxes and charges in accordance with Massachusetts General Laws.
Bill, Collect, and Report Balances of Real Estate, Personal Property, Motor Vehicle Excise Taxes, Sewer Fees and Inspectional Services Fees.
Please note: MLC fee is $50 – please include a self addressed stamped envelope with your request.
This position is currently vacant.
Serving Tyngsborough since 2014.
Collector Resources & Important Documents
Tax Paid Request Form
Real Estate and Personal Property Tax Bills are Quarterly
Taxes are due: August 1, November 1, February 1, and May 1
Due dates that fall on a weekend or holiday are due the next business day.
Bills are issued a minimum of 30-Days before the Due Date.
Excise Bills are issued numerous times throughout the year when received from the Registry of Motor Vehicles and are due 30 days after the issue date.
For Vehicles on the road January 1 that have paid an excise tax in the prior year those bills are generally issued by February 15.
Real Estate Tax Frequently Asked Questions
1) I purchased a new property in Tyngsborough but the old owner’s name still appears on my bill. Why?
A: Massachusetts General Law Chapter 59 Section 11 states “taxes on real estate shall be assessed, in the town where it lies, to the person who is the owner on January 1” As such, the assessed owner as of January 1 will still appear on the bill as well as the name of the current owner for the remainder of the fiscal year (July 1- June 30). Unfortunately, the Post Office may see the previous owner name and forward mail. If this is the case, simply notify our office & we will re-issue bill.
It is the responsibility of the taxpayer to secure his/her tax bill when one is not received. You can request a Duplicate Tax Bill by contacting our office directly.
3) My mortgage company pays my taxes, why did I receive a bill in the mail?
A: Massachusetts Law requires that we send a copy of the Real Estate Tax Bill to each resident, regardless of who pays the mortgage. Mortgage companies and banks use third party tax services to acquire information about your bill. Residents can confirm their bills were payed by contacting our office directly.